diaphenia: (Default)
[personal profile] diaphenia

I've finally been able to go to the movies again, thank god. 

Sleepwalk With Me:



SWM is was written/directed/stars Mike Birbiglia, who I first became aware of because a friend of mine made me listen his Moth version of this story, which is about how Birbiglia’s sleep disorder, made worse by his relationship with his girlfriend, causes him to jump through a window. I laughed so hard I almost chocked. Since then, I’ve heard the story in a few other contexts: This American Life, Birbilia’s CD version of it, and a few other places.

Seeing it in this new way, with scenes previously described now being acted out, was fascinating. For one thing, there’s still some narration (Birbiglia drives around in a car and faces a cameraman, and yes, he was really driving actual streets, and no, it was not particularly safe) so there were points that were jarring, because I know what comes next and you’re saying it wrong.

This movie is, for better or worse, very much an independent movie. It’s got a cheap look to it, and not all the jokes stick, but there’s a fair number of awesome actors—I love to see Carol Kane pop up anywhere—and there’s tons of comedians making cameos. Mike goes by “Mark” in the movie, which I found frustrating, and he’s not a great actor, but he has a great presence and a sense of humor that translates here, with that mix of pathos that defines his work.  His relationship with Lauren Ambrose in particular really worked for me, especially when he gives the audience a context for what happened with the real-life Abby.

The particular context I got to see this in—at least 200 people in the theater, and Ira Glass hosted a Q&A afterward—really enhanced my enjoyment of it. The audience was in great spirits because we all wanted to see Ira, and he was awesome; exactly what I pictured, and he answered my question with a lot of thought and insight. The fact that I got to see this in a theater was a minor miracle; Glass let us in on the process an movie takes to get to a theater, and the odds were not in this movie’s favor.

All in all, though, if you get the chance, you should see this, because it’s an experience, and because supporting a small project like this is so important, and it makes Joss Whedon mad.



Beasts of the Southern Wild:



this movie follows the adventures of Hushpuppy, a little girl who lives in abject poverty on the Bayou. Her mother is gone, her father is sick (and possibly mentally ill) and she lives in The Bathtub, a small shack community on the water. Hushpuppy herself lives in a trailer separate from her father, and cooks cat food for herself on a stove she has to light with a blowtorch. When a storm threatens their community, Hushpuppy is forced into a shelter and a new way of life.

The actress who plays Hushpuppy, Quvenzhané Wallis, was just six when this movie was filmed, but she’s glorious. With children that young, it can be difficult to know how much is acting and how much is camera angles and coaching, but she has a great presence and wisdom to her that reminds me a bit of Shirley Temple (though this movie has exactly zero things in common with a Temple movie). The camera loves her, and trusts her, mostly, to tell this story.

One of the problems, though, is that movie is a little formless. It wanders, and unfolds much slower than most. The residents of The Bathtub are most reactive, to their circumstances, and that can be frustrating to watch. Plus, there are scenes I don’t entirely believe, like when the entire community of fifteen to twenty people escape the shelter, and ones I don’t entirely understand, such as when Hushpuppy and her three little friends all wander onto a boat and then dance at a club called the Elysian Fields (groan).

Coming at this from a middle class white girl perspective, it was hard to know what I wanted to happen to Hushpuppy and her community. I spent most of the movie hoping someone would grab her, put a shower cap on her and dump her in a shower, because she spends so much of the movie in dirty, grubby conditions. When the government actually does this, I want them to escape, because clearly the community is chafing under those conditions. At the same time, though, they’re living in unsafe conditions in the Tub, and Hushpuppy doesn’t appear to go to actual school, and will have a difficult time living in the real world when she lives so free of the real world.

I think the real sad story here, though, is that little Wallis could have a fantastic acting career one day, if she wanted, except that Hollywood is racist. I worry if she sticks around she’s going to get relegated to sassy best friend/maid/prostitute parts, and that would be just heartbreaking. Therefore, I hope we can solve racism within the next decade, ideally.



Celeste and Jesse Forever:



Celeste and Jesse, two best friends, are revealed early on to be getting a divorce. Despite this, they still live feet away from each other, see each other every day, and creep out their best friends. They can’t work their feelings out; he wants her back, but she doesn’t want him until dun dun dun a woman from his past reveals that she’s pregnant. From there, Rashida Jones has to try dating other people, deal with her feelings for her ex, handle a professional crisis at work relating to her Ke$ha-I-mean-Riley-Banks pop star, and decide if it’s better to be right, or to be happy.

Overall, this movie reminded me of so many I’ve seen. I liked the characters, and wished they had a better script to work with. The script is mostly dumb and predictable, and I hated, for instance, the way it tried to handle Elijah Woods’ character. Woods plays the gay best friend/work partner for Jones, and they bring up his gayness several times, each more groan-worthy than the last. We’re totally cool with the gays, the movie seems to be saying. Look, he’s gay! Great, movie, but let’s give him an actual character to work with, and some actual motivations beyond supporting Jones, and then you can tell me how non-homophobic you are. When the Riley Banks subplot is resolved because gays love her! I almost groaned out loud.

Plus, in the grand tradition of Hollywood, no one in a romantic comedy can be smart. Jones drops off her ex’s stuff at his new home, and naturally, ends up falling into their trash can just shoot me now. When she calls her client, she naturally can’t hang up the phone and she says terrible things about her oh my god woman don’t you know how phones work? There are parts here that make me think Jones’ character is a human being, and then THE MOVIE interferes and I’m shaking my head again.

The movie also forces her into a relationship with a man from her yoga class, and the two of them have exactly zero chemistry. She’s got much better chemistry with her young pop star, and I hope somewhere there’s fic about the two of them finding love together because I ship it.

That said, there were things I liked here: the C/J relationship felt realistic to me. They felt like two people who had grown up and around each other, with codependence. Jones is allowed to be a jerk in a way few movies really let heroines be—and to be clear, the movie punishes her for her hubris, but still—and it was great that she ends up alone, because that’s how life goes, often times. Plus, it got right that delicate post-break-up dance everyone’s friends go through when they try to support both halves of a couple.

Plus, this just confirms what I always say about breakups: stop seeing each other, cold turkey. No good comes from immediately trying to be friends, and one person will end up hurt.

Parks fans will be amused to see Millicent Girgich pop up at the wedding.  



Date: 2012-09-04 02:34 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] deathmallow.livejournal.com
Looks like the movie theaters are opening again here later in the week so I was thinking of a movie next weekend, so thank you for these reviews! I might try to check out "Sleepwalk" or "Beasts.

Plus, in the grand tradition of Hollywood, no one in a romantic comedy can be smart.

This is a big part of why I refuse to watch most romcoms because I really, really can't suspend my disbelief that so many adults could be so immature and/or stupid and the situations are usually so contrived. I am an intelligent, mature young woman who does not want to expect to be pandered to with storylines where grown people act like morons or assholes in the pursuit of "love", because even the best of them usually have some reliance on bad romcom tropes. Romcoms used to be capable of being smart, so it can be done. (And this is probably also why Haymitch and Brutus have "make fun of Capitol romcom" sessions...bwah.)

Date: 2012-09-05 10:17 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
I loved that part of your fic! I enjoy rom-coms, but I do have to watch them with lowered expectations, because they're so often crap. Of course, everything is often crap, but rarely do they transcend the genre (and when they do, it's wonderful).

Date: 2012-09-06 02:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] deathmallow.livejournal.com
I had fun with writing that--Brutus is always of the opinion there needs to be more epic fights, and Haymitch probably wants a lot more witty banter--and I'm sure they'll be doing it again in AFAF when H/J go to Two (and Haymitch and Brutus will be introducing their ladies to the fun of MST'ing.)

...which really means they just need to watch "The Princess Bride", the end.

And the ones that transcend the genre really are awesome. :D
Edited Date: 2012-09-06 02:41 am (UTC)

Date: 2012-09-06 03:07 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
The Princess Bride is one of those movies I can watch a million times and never be bored. Young Cary Elwes doesn't hurt either...

Date: 2012-09-06 04:00 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] throwingpens.livejournal.com
I saw a photo of Cary Elwes in, like, 2010, and I cried.

Also, on a TPB note: I'm trying to justify the purchase of this.

Date: 2012-09-05 01:44 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stars-inthe-sky.livejournal.com
SPOILERS AHOY.

***

The bit with the club (brothel?) in Beasts was, I think, a combination of Hushpuppy looking for her mother--the success of that is left ambiguous--and exploring what leaving the Bathtub could be like. The question of Hushpuppy's fate after her father dies is a nagging question throughout the movie, and by the end, I think the point is that the Bathtub is her (and the others') home--she 'fits' there, it's hers. And it's also worth fighting to keep--it has to be, because the other alternatives are unacceptable.

Date: 2012-09-05 10:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
I like that interpretation! There was something depressing about those four little girls dancing with surrogate mothers in that scene.

Date: 2012-09-05 10:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stars-inthe-sky.livejournal.com
I think that we the point--that for all of Hushpuppy's independence and resilience, she's still had to grow up motherless and is on the verge of losing her father, too. As you pointed out, life in the bathtub is beyond the urban poverty we're used to seeing portrayed. It's a hard existence, even if it's the "right" one. For one reason or another, Hushpuppy's mum couldn't do it. Hushpuppy (and her father) can, but there's still a sacrifice.

Date: 2012-09-05 04:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ballroom_pink.livejournal.com
[Internet finally started working about 15 minutes ago.]
I definitely liked the Celeste and Jesse Forever more than you did!

More like Celeste getting her shit together. I can't explain precisely why and how I love the concept of this film. I relish in the fact that it's not about getting these two back together like a run-of-the-mill Hollywood rom-com; it's about a capable woman putting her life back on track, or rather a new track. It reminded me of my favorite parts of Bridesmaids — not the gross-out comedy but the parts with real emotional heft where Megan tells Annie to fight for her shitty life. It was definitely Rashida's movie; Andy barely seemed a part of it really. If he got people to see it, props to him. Celeste has her life planned and gets annoyed eventually in Jesse's inability to achieve anything despite them sharing the same sense of humor. They were best friends because they've been a couple the entire time they've known each other and for her to think that she can still be friends with him is inconsiderate and UNREALISTIC. (He just wants to get back together at first, and I'm torn if he's actually grown up and moved on by the end because it's not really about him for us to worry about.)
Her transformative speech teaches her the lesson she so badly needs to learn and we figure out she learns from the last interaction in the convenience store. Being right ... yada yada yada.

Now, you say that she has zero chemistry with Chris Messina and maybe I'm just projecting chemistry but I bought it. (I've thought he was cute since he wooed Claire Fisher on Six Feet Under and I can't wait for him to do the same schtick he did in this movie in The Mindy Project.) He was a more adult version of Jesse, I thought.

The parts that didn't work for me were Elijah Wood's character — underused and misused — and the pop star. I'm glad that they became friends and they helped each other out but I'm glad it wasn't too big of a deal in the script.

Can we discuss how awesome Ari Graynor is? The trailer for For a Good Time, Call was before the movie and she's just awesome. (I loved her in Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist.) And I can't take credit for saying it — I think it was Entertainment Weekly — but she's a mini-Bette Midler. (That's a compliment.) Her character's marriage might work because they've learned from Celeste and Jesse.

Date: 2012-09-05 10:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
I do love Ari, and whats-his-name, the one that played Vaughn on Community- I spent every second he was on screen trying to decide who the hell he was. It wasn't that I hated the movie, but I feel like it could've been a lot better. I liked a lot of it! I didn't like as much of it as I wanted to like. I bet I could've written a better script. But I really loved the ending, like I said, and that they let Celeste be unpleasant.

I sort of want fic for the movie, which is not something I generally think about movies.

Date: 2012-09-05 04:27 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ballroom_pink.livejournal.com
re: Ari Graynor/Beth I love when she puts Celeste in an adult time-out.

Date: 2012-09-06 02:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] throwingpens.livejournal.com
I love it when you do reviews of movies that I would never get to see because I live in a place where there is nothing within a few hundred miles.

That way I don't actually have to see them.

Date: 2012-09-06 03:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
I should do them more often! I see... all the movies, really. I think I seen 30+ in theaters since the Oscars....

Date: 2012-09-06 03:31 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] throwingpens.livejournal.com
I have seen...four? Maybe? Including Winnie the Pooh and Hunger Games, mind you.

Profile

diaphenia: (Default)
diaphenia

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728 293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 09:53 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios