Even though I wasn't planning on going for a few weeks, I asked D if he liked it, as he saw it on Saturday, and he explained that it was mandatory that I go see it, Sunday night, and no, I couldn't wait until Monday. So I called up another friend and asked her to meet me an hour later at the local cinema, and it was on.
I'm a very intense movie watcher. I try not to whisper, I turn my phone on silent, and I'm generally a good patron, except that I get really into movies. If you should ever see a movie with me, I have a tendency to grab the hands, knees, and arms of my friends during intense moments. I dive face-first into shoulders when violence, almost any violence takes place. Occasionally I whimper. During this movie I kept curling my arms around my head to keep away the bad images. Actually, I have no idea why people go see movies with me (other than that I'm fun). I spent most of the movie clinging to the hand of my friend S, who took it remarkably well. She was shocked I was surprised by the twists in the movie, and whisper-yelled at me for not having read the books.
The Violence
I was shocked by all the violence, and how sanitary it was. I have no idea why this was rated PG-13; it's about child-on-child murder, and I don't care how many quick-cuts you do, that should still mean something. The camera lingered on the lifeless eyes of those kids; it was horrifying. As I said above, I really can't do violence, but the age of these children made it all the worse. I did like that they weren't afraid to make Kat directly responsible for deaths of other tributes; it would have been a cop-out if she hadn't.
The hand-held camera, moving.
Stop it, movies.
What the movie said about us as a people
When I got home, I started reading reviews, and I was a little shocked by how many people wanted more violence, and more bloodshed. Did they not get the point of the movie, or ? The casual cruelty of the people in the Capital, who gave their children swords to play with and cheered on the deaths of 23 kids a year was breathtaking. As was the clear divide between the 1% and everyone else; to see the gulf between District 12 and the Capital was amazing. I think that was the most shocking part for me personally, to see that only slightly distorted mirror between them and us. Which is the point of dystopian fiction! But it was all the worst because they were just kids, unlike the Jersey Shore crew.
The Fashion
Wow. I know it's not the point of the movie, but I really loved all that fashion in the Capital. I want to incorporate all those delicious candy colors into my wardrobe because of course I do. And gold eyeliner. And FIRE.
Virginity
If I was cast into the Hunger Games, I'd be dead almost immediately, so I don't know why Kat just didn't go ahead and sleep with Peeta in that sweet hotel room. Then I'd gorge myself on pecan rolls.
Gale
I kept forgetting he was a thing.
Katniss x Peeta
I left the movie feeling very pro-Peeta, and guilty about this. Now, I haven't read the books yet, but my impression is that (highlight to read) there's a sort-of love-triangle between Peeta, Katniss, and Gale, and she never commits to either of them. And that in general, I'm not supposed to want her to pick a boyfriend, because she's an independent woman who just wants to save her people from the bad guys and their awesome facial hair. But I'm a sucker for a romance, so if I'm honest with myself this is what I was most interested in seeing, and I left shipping P/K and feeling like I shouldn't.
They get together under duress. Does he really love her, or is he just trying to help her win? He seems to realize he's a dead man walking, so I agree with Hayworth, he really did her a favor. And if I was watching teenagers battle to the end, I'd want to see some teen romance play out, so it makes sense that, as he realizes he's not going to make it, he'd go ahead and help her win.
And she seemed into it, too, but was it all a show for the cameras? The last scene of the two of them, where her face lights up seeing Gale and her sister, seems to imply that he realized she was never really into him. But on the other hand, I don't get the feeling she was going to commit suicide as a gamble that they would stop her, so does that mean she loved him? Or just that she couldn't murder him in cold blood, even when he volunteered himself to her?
So, I ship it... and I'm not sure I should. Because if she only got together with him as a calculated move- not that I'd fault her for that- or if she's really only with him because of the stress and that insanity that is the Games, then I could hardly blame her, but I'd feel really guilty for wanting her to date someone she started dating under duress.
I asked
throwingpens how I should feel about this, and had an excellent response, which I'm going to go ahead and excerpt: I think you’re supposed to [want P/K]. I think Katniss is super conflicted because Gale is like, her dream guy. He’s handsome. He hunts with her. They come from similar family situations (his father died when hers did and now they support their respective families). But Peeta loves her. Peeta would do anything for her. Everything Peeta did in the Games was for Katniss.
I think it’s a matter of “what you think you want” and “what you want now.” And I think Gale is what Katniss thinks she wants and I think Peeta is what she wants when he’s there, because he’s solid. And he’s loved her from afar for so long…I’ve been Peeta before, and when the other person pays you attention…it’s the best. I’ve also been Katniss, when someone wants you, you can’t help but want to be with them, too.
But when I mentioned the same thing to
shornt, she said the movie skimmed over all the reasons why i cant get fully behind Peeta so I think I need to just read the books.
Overall
I can't wait to see the next one. And S is going to lend me the books (hopefully she brings them by soon) (though I should get some sleep, so really she shouldn't) (but I WANT THEM NOW).
I'm a very intense movie watcher. I try not to whisper, I turn my phone on silent, and I'm generally a good patron, except that I get really into movies. If you should ever see a movie with me, I have a tendency to grab the hands, knees, and arms of my friends during intense moments. I dive face-first into shoulders when violence, almost any violence takes place. Occasionally I whimper. During this movie I kept curling my arms around my head to keep away the bad images. Actually, I have no idea why people go see movies with me (other than that I'm fun). I spent most of the movie clinging to the hand of my friend S, who took it remarkably well. She was shocked I was surprised by the twists in the movie, and whisper-yelled at me for not having read the books.
The Violence
I was shocked by all the violence, and how sanitary it was. I have no idea why this was rated PG-13; it's about child-on-child murder, and I don't care how many quick-cuts you do, that should still mean something. The camera lingered on the lifeless eyes of those kids; it was horrifying. As I said above, I really can't do violence, but the age of these children made it all the worse. I did like that they weren't afraid to make Kat directly responsible for deaths of other tributes; it would have been a cop-out if she hadn't.
The hand-held camera, moving.
Stop it, movies.
What the movie said about us as a people
When I got home, I started reading reviews, and I was a little shocked by how many people wanted more violence, and more bloodshed. Did they not get the point of the movie, or ? The casual cruelty of the people in the Capital, who gave their children swords to play with and cheered on the deaths of 23 kids a year was breathtaking. As was the clear divide between the 1% and everyone else; to see the gulf between District 12 and the Capital was amazing. I think that was the most shocking part for me personally, to see that only slightly distorted mirror between them and us. Which is the point of dystopian fiction! But it was all the worst because they were just kids, unlike the Jersey Shore crew.
The Fashion
Wow. I know it's not the point of the movie, but I really loved all that fashion in the Capital. I want to incorporate all those delicious candy colors into my wardrobe because of course I do. And gold eyeliner. And FIRE.
Virginity
If I was cast into the Hunger Games, I'd be dead almost immediately, so I don't know why Kat just didn't go ahead and sleep with Peeta in that sweet hotel room. Then I'd gorge myself on pecan rolls.
Gale
I kept forgetting he was a thing.
Katniss x Peeta
I left the movie feeling very pro-Peeta, and guilty about this. Now, I haven't read the books yet, but my impression is that (highlight to read) there's a sort-of love-triangle between Peeta, Katniss, and Gale, and she never commits to either of them. And that in general, I'm not supposed to want her to pick a boyfriend, because she's an independent woman who just wants to save her people from the bad guys and their awesome facial hair. But I'm a sucker for a romance, so if I'm honest with myself this is what I was most interested in seeing, and I left shipping P/K and feeling like I shouldn't.
They get together under duress. Does he really love her, or is he just trying to help her win? He seems to realize he's a dead man walking, so I agree with Hayworth, he really did her a favor. And if I was watching teenagers battle to the end, I'd want to see some teen romance play out, so it makes sense that, as he realizes he's not going to make it, he'd go ahead and help her win.
And she seemed into it, too, but was it all a show for the cameras? The last scene of the two of them, where her face lights up seeing Gale and her sister, seems to imply that he realized she was never really into him. But on the other hand, I don't get the feeling she was going to commit suicide as a gamble that they would stop her, so does that mean she loved him? Or just that she couldn't murder him in cold blood, even when he volunteered himself to her?
So, I ship it... and I'm not sure I should. Because if she only got together with him as a calculated move- not that I'd fault her for that- or if she's really only with him because of the stress and that insanity that is the Games, then I could hardly blame her, but I'd feel really guilty for wanting her to date someone she started dating under duress.
I asked
I think it’s a matter of “what you think you want” and “what you want now.” And I think Gale is what Katniss thinks she wants and I think Peeta is what she wants when he’s there, because he’s solid. And he’s loved her from afar for so long…I’ve been Peeta before, and when the other person pays you attention…it’s the best. I’ve also been Katniss, when someone wants you, you can’t help but want to be with them, too.
But when I mentioned the same thing to
Overall
I can't wait to see the next one. And S is going to lend me the books (hopefully she brings them by soon) (though I should get some sleep, so really she shouldn't) (but I WANT THEM NOW).
no subject
Date: 2012-03-27 02:14 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-03-27 03:24 am (UTC)*It worked! I had absolutely no strong feelings about JHutch when I saw him in The Kids are Alright but now I'm thinking he's super hot.
no subject
Date: 2012-04-01 11:48 pm (UTC)Gale doesn't do much for me and Peeta only a little more. I'm more interested in this being a movie trilogy about how awesome Katniss Everdeen is.
no subject
Date: 2012-04-02 12:11 am (UTC)But yeah, this is all so much better than, say, Twilight, where there's some romance, but it's not Kat's sole reason for living, Bella. She even pretty much actively rejects romance, which is neat.
no subject
Date: 2012-03-27 03:33 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-03-27 03:51 am (UTC)I wasn't sure to what extent, in the movies, Gale was supposed to be a thing. She seemed to sort be crushing on him at the beginning (but then, it could have just been friendship as well) but then every so often we'd flash to him looking sad while she was gone. So.... plus, of course, everyone mentions the 'love triangle' which made me think there was a love triangle, but if I didn't know that I'm not sure I would have assumed it.
no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 01:14 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-03-27 05:34 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 11:06 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-03-27 12:45 pm (UTC)Having a little party right now because I wasn't the only one thinking this.
I would make more thoughtful/intelligent comments but I'm hungry and distracted, so I'll just say that I pretty much agree with everything you said, and also I totally didn't click that Josh was in The Kids are Alright until I saw you mention it in a comment but now it's totally obvious.
no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 04:54 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 08:11 am (UTC)Um, another thing I was thinking and I don't know if it was just me - when they were having their cave make-out, can you imagine how bad their breath must have been? I mean there wasn't much in the way of hygeine and toothbrushes and they were eating roast squirrels.
no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 10:09 am (UTC)I actually wasn't thinking about toothbrushes, just that they really should get some soap and wash their wounds, or say their fingers that they're sticking in each other's open bloody wounds.
But I'm a bit crazy; when I read sex scenes I always like to imagine the people involved had time to wash their hands first, because people in stories? Always seem to climb right off a horse/ down a helicopter ladder/ over the dead body of their dearly departed recently exposed to be double crossing them former partner right into bed/ ledge/ car together. AHHHHH DON'T TOUCH EACH OTHER YOUR HANDS ARE CRAWLING WITH BACTERIA AND GRAVEL BITS
no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 10:23 am (UTC)Having said that, yeah, the dirty fingers into dirty open wounds part of the hunger games was a tad problematic. Peeta seemed to be into it though. I honestly couldn't stop giggling while he was stroking her bloody forehead, I don't know what's wrong with me.
no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 10:57 am (UTC)This is why I don't write morning kisses into my stories. Because I don't want everyone to magically taste minty fresh, but I also don't want to write about them negotiating that landmine of gross words I don't want to have write and rewrite. So it's a good thing, in fic and IN LIFE, that morning sex isn't really my thing.
As for the wounds... I mean, they were both fine, because glitter gel is magic, so that's good. But I think they were trying to convince the twihards to love thg? Maybe? I kept thinking, eh, there's only six of you left, just go by the river and get some water and wipe off your foreheads.
Things they also should have done: had sex in the cave. Why the hell not? Apparently, none of these teenagers ever think about keeping post while the other(s) sleep, so... apparently no one worries about getting caught off-guard.
I'm making fun of this, but I liked the movie so much I went back and saw it again last night. It held up on the second viewing, and afterwards I went to buy gold eyeliner because I'm an idiot. And now all I can think about is fake eyelashes with butterfly wings.
no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 01:19 pm (UTC)You saw it again! That's awesome! Gold eyeliner does not make you an idiot. Cinna totally pulled it off, right? And I'm sure you do too! I am still mourning my amazing bronzey-gold one that I bought in Australia and now it's run out and is not available in the UK. False eyelashes with butterfly wings might be taking it a step too far (or just far enough!), but then I just spent £14 on multi-coloured glittery liquid eyeliner so I can't really talk.
no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 02:24 pm (UTC)As for the sex. You live in the UK, where I'm sure people are more normal about sex, but we in America are descended from Pilgrams (well, sort of. And not-- it's not important) and we get super weird about sex. Our ratings for movies, for instance, are always way harsher about sex than violence, giving higher ratings for sex scenes than, say, blood/gore or even high bloodless body counts. Therefore, we would probably be fine with the brick-to-skull stuff, and get weird about the teen-sex. Which, technically, would be child porn, even if they're of the age of consent in their district... so, hmm, I'm going to go with "they'd release it on youtube as an 'accidental' leak."
Eye makeup is one of the few things I'm good at applying, though eyeliner on the top lid eludes me. Gold isn't my color- I'm cool undertones- but screw it, I went with it and I'm only a little ashamed.
no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 05:21 pm (UTC)To be honest, I don't really know much about the UK attitude to sex, as I grew up in Australia and most of the people I spend time with are antipodeans. But I do notice that even just when it comes to showing the human body, UK and Australian tv shows (say featuring plastic surgery) will show way more than US ones. On a very similar note to what you mentioned - I wonder if you've seen this too? - there's a documentary called This Film Is Not Yet Rated about the MPAA film rating board in the US. It is really interesting and will probably also make you really angry. A ridiculous example was that, to reduce a rating from NC-17 to R (I think), they insisted that a certain movie would have to cut or reduce screentime of a shot of a female's face while she had an orgasm during consensual sex. The brutal rape and murder at end of the film though? Totally A-OK. It's incredibly disturbing how society in general is fine with letting kids watch violence and murder on screen, but faints with horror if they see a pair of breasts.
I really feel the need to end this post on a light note now. Umm I'm going to see Bel Ami tonight and my friend texted me to say she's bringing me a present and it's chocolate! Yayyy!
no subject
Date: 2012-04-01 11:52 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-03-27 11:30 pm (UTC)because I'm a spoiler addict.no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 04:56 am (UTC)Or tell meno don't tell me ahhhhh I need to read those books.I'll let you know what I think when I finish 'em.
(Movie Gale seems pretty boring, though he's attractive, certainly)
And I will say that I really enjoyed the movie as an experience. I thought it was worth it!
no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 03:36 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 04:09 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 04:46 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 05:00 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-03-28 05:24 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-03-30 11:32 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-04-01 11:11 pm (UTC)I didn't think so as I read the book but I definitely believe that Foxface killed herself. She knew too much about flora to not know those berries were poison. I'd be a Foxface. I know about plants. But I'd die the first day.
Things I was disappointed that they changed: instead of a gift of bread from District 11 we get a revolt. The bread from District from 11 to Katniss' death was my favorite part of the book! I was touched by the handling of Rue's death (in the book) and so by the time Katniss gets that gift, I went unhinged. Bawling at 1 in the morning. I also didn't care for K getting the pin at the Hob and then giving it to Prim and then getting it back. I wanted it to be from Madge (especially after finishing Catching Fire). Have they erased its significance or made a different backstory?
I have more to say ...
no subject
Date: 2012-04-01 11:49 pm (UTC)I think the movie, if not the book specifically, thinks Foxface killed herself. I would; it's either Cato or the lovers from District 12, and the likelyhood they'll all destroy each other is slim. (I would die the first day too)
I told myself I wouldn't cry when I read the book since I knew Rue's death was coming, and I was in my car, crying anyway.
no subject
Date: 2012-04-01 11:13 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-04-01 11:36 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-04-01 11:45 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-04-02 12:02 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-04-06 06:13 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-04-06 06:42 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-04-06 07:39 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-04-07 01:05 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-04-07 07:30 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2012-04-07 10:28 pm (UTC)