diaphenia: (Default)
[personal profile] diaphenia



I stayed out all night last night, because the Oscars are my Superbowl (the Superbowl was also technically my Superbowl, in that I cheered on the team Tumblr told me to care about and ate chips and drank wine) and after we left the Oscar bar party it seemed imperative we go to another bar and then another bar and then to an all-night diner. 


But the Oscar bar party was excellent, and we sat by the woman running the trivia contest. At one point, she came over because she thought we were cheating, but we were just tracking our predictions and the wins/losses because we're those people, so she chatted with us and ended up missing the beginning of the return from the commercial, which was bad because she was in charge of the sound and thus a bar full of movie nerds missed a Billy Crystal joke.

We were having a blast, though the sound was terrible, because whenever they announced a winner we hi fived with one hand if one of us got it right, with both hands if we were both right, and made sad faces if neither of us got it.

We compared predictions- last year, I guessed 19/24, but this year only 10/24. D got 17/24, but when they announced the winner of the predictions contest, D won with 19 correct, which was two off. We compared his prediction sheet, and he had indeed only gotten 17.

"Should I tell them?" he asked me, and I said he shouldn't, since she probably gave it to us because we were friendly movie nerds. It turns out his morals are as weak as mine, and we kept the gift card. 

We hit up the gay bar nearby, and it was dead, so we went to a straight bar instead, where we drank giant tropical deliciousness and I almost fell asleep, having been up at that point for about 20 hours (minus a nap). One of the boys in the bar had a puppy, so we discussed his tiny adorable face and itty bitty paws and pet him while he napped. Then, as I was drooping on to the table, D decided we'd go home. I convinced him we should pop in and see if the gay bar had picked up, and it had, so we drank weak, weak drinks and danced as only the two whitest people with zero sexual attraction can.

I went off and danced on one of the platforms, and I don’t know why I do that, because inevitably the only men in the bar interested in women decide that I’m fair game. But unlike last time, no one tried to stick their tongue in my face, so it was a victory.

But D could tell I was miserable, so he did his swoop and save and pulled me away from the guy.

“You should just tell these guys you aren’t interested,” he said, because he just doesn’t understand that women aren’t socialized that way. And that I was trying to get him to meet people rather than entertain me.

I told him he had to go make friends, and he refused. Last time we went to this bar, I waited in line at the bathroom for approximately 26 hours, and when I returned he was smushed up against a pole with his fingers tangled in a guy’s hair, so I kept trying to disappear. I know I shouldn't interfere, but it's been over a year since he confessed to me that he wasn't sure and he's made zero progress exiting the closet. I don't bring it up, because it's not my call, and because it was only a few months ago he started referring to his future dates/life partners with male pronouns.

I think at the very least he should stop pretending he's babysitting me, so I bought him a drink and told him to go made a friend. He rolled him eyes but found someone to dance with, and—unlike when we dance and look barely familiar with the concept—they fit.  

I danced on the other platform, and this time I made friends with two gay boys and a drag queen, and danced without getting groped.

But the bar closed around four, and we trooped out, and I waited on the sidewalk while he talked to his new friend which meant I damn near froze to death since I was wearing a summery dress and no tights—our coats were in the car because he gets weirdly paranoid someone’s going to steal his. While I waited for his new friend to smoke and for him to exchange phone numbers and possibly read the entire text of Beowulf, some rando offered me his jacket, practically insisted, and I finally took it because otherwise I was going to freeze because—and I can’t overemphasize this—I was not wearing enough clothing. He asked me for my name, and I did what I do when that comes up- I gave him the name of a tumblr friend.

When D finally tore himself away from his new friend, he was shocked I was wearing someone else’s coat, and I told him I had to wait for the guy to return with his car to hand off the coat and also if anyone asks my name is Emily. He blinked at me, confused, but we waited for the guy to return, I gave him his coat and the brush off, and D and I went to a diner that was between our bar and our car.

The last time we’d been to a gay bar together, he’d hooked up but didn’t realize I was aware of it. We’d gone to another diner—we call it our French toast diner because it’s just to die for—and while the fall sun rose I’d written did you get his number? on a napkin and slid it over to him. He’d pretended he had no idea what I was talking about, and I ignored that and asked him if he was going to call him, and he looked disappointed and said he wouldn’t.

This time, I got the guy’s name, job, bad habits, and an I might call him so that’s an improvement.

By the time I got home I’d been up for almost 26 hours (minus a nap) and I was just about as exhausted as I could be, so I didn’t even check tumblr before I collapsed. 


Date: 2012-02-27 08:20 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stillscape.livejournal.com
This sounds exhausting.

Date: 2012-02-27 10:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] princess-george.livejournal.com
But also kind of awesome.

Me, I went to bed as they were announcing Meryl Streep and I don't think I've seen any of the movies in question except Moneyball. Sounds like you had more fun than I did! I kind of miss my messy clubbing days. The energy of a lot of sweaty strangers. Wait, that came out wrong. That's what she said. Oh, god, I'm shutting up now.

Date: 2012-02-28 12:01 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
You make me laugh!

And clubbing is awesome! I agree, there's something fun about an entire room of people swaying to the music. It's a little intoxicating.

Date: 2012-02-28 02:01 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stillscape.livejournal.com
See, I have always hated clubbing. HATED it. I always thought I would hate clubbing, because I am naturally antisocial and don't dance, but I let my friends take me clubbing once anyway and IMMEDIATELY some dude started humping my leg, literally humping it, and I couldn't get him off and then he started with the groping and really, that was it for me and clubbing. Ever.

Date: 2012-02-28 04:28 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] princess-george.livejournal.com
Ew, gross. I don't remember that happening when I went clubbing. Ew.

I do remember lots of dancing, increasingly sweaty dancing as the night wore on. I met a very sweet boyfriend at a club once, believe it or not (he gave me his phone number as my friend and I were leaving, it was super-cute, and we went out for a while).

I came of age first in the era of sort of swirly dancing (to the Cure) and then it morphed into mosh pits (Nirvana, Pearl Jam). And then later I mostly went to live bands instead of canned music clubs. The New Year's Eve with the Celtic punk band was awesome.

Saucy, if you ever come to Toronto, you'll have to drag me out to El Convento Rico - it's a pansexual extravaganza, with a drag show before the place gets packed full on a Saturday night.

Date: 2012-02-28 12:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
Is it weird that I want to come to Toronto just to hear you talk about your experiences clubbing? Because I kind of so. That's awesome. Then we'll go to the drag thing. Also, I can learn more about Canada!

Date: 2012-02-28 01:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] princess-george.livejournal.com
It's weird, yes, but in a way I fully support.

You realize I'm so lame now that I never go anywhere, and I'm probably old enough to be your mom, though, right? I can totally talk about the good old days before texting and Britney Spears remixes, though.

Date: 2012-02-29 12:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
I feel like I could inspire you to chase your youth again. If not, I'll just listen to you talk about mosh pits and punk music. And Degrassi.

Date: 2012-02-29 02:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] princess-george.livejournal.com
Degrassi! OK, so:

1) I have had a grilled cheese sandwich made by a former Degrassi cast member and I could take you to that restaurant. It's called Grilled Cheese, although I don't know if she still works there. It's awesome.
2) I can show you the actual Degrassi street. Although the school doesn't exist.
3) I live near one of the Barenaked Ladies. Admittedly not a Degrassi reference, but I've run out of those.

Date: 2012-02-28 10:57 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] craponaspatula.livejournal.com
Let's not going clubbing together sometime. Because it is the WORST.

Date: 2012-02-28 10:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] stillscape.livejournal.com
They can go clubbing; we will go have coffee and dessert and a discussion about Ben's hair like normal sane people.

Date: 2012-02-28 11:09 pm (UTC)

Date: 2012-02-29 12:01 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
I just don't understand how you two can both be so delightful, and yet so utterly wrong* about fun.


*This isn't a matter of a opinion. This is FACTS.

Date: 2012-02-29 02:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] craponaspatula.livejournal.com
Sorry, two against one, you lose.

Date: 2012-02-27 11:55 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
I don't really sleep.

Date: 2012-02-27 10:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ballroom_pink.livejournal.com
I had 12/24. I probably would have had more if I picked Hugo for a couple things and weren't so adamant to support Melissa McCarthy and Gary Oldman.

Date: 2012-02-28 12:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
McCarthy already won an Emmy for it rimshot!

But I don't know how I was so off this year. I do know I was positive that The Artist would be Best Picture but I was certain it was Scorcese for Directing. And then Streep was a surprise, and I missed 2/3 of the shorts and I think both screenplay categories... Oh and I thought Clooney would take Actor.

But it's terrible because I pretty much thought it was a weak year for movies, just utterly weak.

Date: 2012-02-28 04:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ballroom_pink.livejournal.com
Aw, burn! I picked Glenn Close as well. The only actor I knew for sure and really wanted to win was Christopher Plummer. I guessed as always on most of the shorts and docs.

Date: 2012-02-28 01:00 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
I didn't really love Albert Nobbs and I can't really put my finger on why. Close tried, but still. Christopher Plummer was awesome; I saw Beginners and totally cried.

Date: 2012-02-27 10:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] americnxidiot.livejournal.com
So I am reading correctly... there was a puppy at a bar? Haha. Sounds like a fun night!

Date: 2012-02-28 12:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
Oh my god, and it was the cutest puppy ever. Seven weeks old, a pug, and just darling. Apparently the bar was fine with it, since the waitress was the one that told him to show us the puppy. I'm not entirely clear that it's legal to bring puppies to bars, but I just about melted to see it.

Date: 2012-02-28 05:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] whimsical-irony.livejournal.com
I...didn't watch the Oscars. Your night sounds awesome though! I wish the bars here held Oscar viewing parties instead of playing the sports channel all the time.

Date: 2012-02-28 01:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] saucydiva.livejournal.com
To be fair, the majority of bars show sports, because we do love our bar/grill. But there are a few Oscar viewing parties, some of which are not charity-centric and thus cost less than $75. We also host an official Oscar viewing at the Gene Siskell film center that's $100 areyoukidding.

Profile

diaphenia: (Default)
diaphenia

December 2020

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728 293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:56 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios